Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

UPDATE: Three More Teams Qualify for 2018 IBSA Goalball World Championships

Date: August 31, 2017

Category: Goalball

With the 2017 IBSA Goalball Asia/Pacific Goalball Championships (Thailand) in the record books, three new teams earned qualification slots for the 2018 IBSA Goalball World Championships (Sweden, 30 May – 10 June).

The Asia/Pacific Championships, that ended on 27 August, included 8 men’s and 6 women’s teams.  Based on final tournament standings and qualification rules, men’s teams from China and Iran earned qualification slots as well as the women’s team from Japan.

The following teams are now qualified for the 2018 IBSA World Goalball Championships:



Men’s Teams (6/16 teams qualified):

• Sweden (Host Country)
• Lithuania (Paralympics Champion)
• USA (Paralympics 2nd Place)
• Brazil (Paralympics 3rd  Place)
• China (2017 Asia/Pacific Championships 1st Place )
• Iran (2017 Asia/Pacific Championships 2nd Place)




Women’s Teams (5/12 teams qualified):

• Sweden (Host Country)
• Turkey (Paralympics Champion)
• China (Paralympics 2nd  Place)
• USA (Paralympics 3rd  Place)
• Japan (2017 Asia/Pacific Championships1st Place)



As a reminder, at the end of all regional championships, the Ratio Formula (Rule 48.2) will be used to fill final qualification slots.  Here are the Ratio Formula calculations for the 2017 Asia/Pacific Championships:

• Men: 8 teams total / 2 teams qualified = 4
• Women: 6 teams total / 2 teams qualified = 3



The next qualification tournament will be the 2017 IBSA Goalball European Championships (Finland, 15-23 September).



IBSA Goalball will keep you updated after each regional tournament this year so you can follow the assignment of competition slots as they occur.  According to 2014-2017 IBSA Goalball Rules and Regulations, rule 48.16, 16 men’s and 12 women’s teams will earn the opportunity to come to Sweden, Malmo (30th May-10th June) and join one of the world’s biggest goalball tournaments which is also the first qualification tournament for the 2020 Paralympic Games!


Related Articles