Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

For classifiers

For classifiers

Classification at world and regional level may only be conducted by “visual impairment (VI) international classifiers”. IBSA is fortunate to have at its disposal a pool of expert VI international classifiers, all of whom have been certified jointly by IBSA and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).

In order to become a VI international classifier, potential classifiers (either ophthalmologists or optometrists) must graduate from a classifier certification course approved by IBSA and the IPC.

A list of IBSA certified international classifiers

The determination of visual class will be based upon the eye with better visual acuity, whilst wearing best optical correction using spectacles or contact lenses, and/or visual fields which include central and peripheral zones.

Currently the classification structure is not yet sport specific. However IBSA has funded several research projects to develop sport specific classification in the near future.

For classifiers

Current classes

B1 – Visual acuity lower than LogMAR 2.6.

B2 – Visual acuity ranging from LogMAR 1.5 to 2.6 (inclusive) and/or visual field constricted to a diameter of less than 10 degrees.

B3 – Visual acuity ranging from LogMAR 1.4 to 1.0 (inclusive) and/or visual field constricted to a diameter of less than 40 degrees.

The IBSA Classification Manual for Classifiers
Current classes