Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Turkey wins IBSA Blind Football European Championships

Date: August 29, 2015

Category: Football

Turkey are the new IBSA Blind Football European Champions following a 1-0 victory over Russia in the final of the IBSA Blind Football European Championships in Hereford, England, this afternoon.

Caption: Turkey and Russia line up before the final.

Turkey scored early and held on to defeat a Russian side that couldn't find a way through the Turkish defence. It is the first time Turkey has won the European title.

Caption: the Turkish players raise a player on their shoulders. The player is holding the cup.

Spain finished third, beating hosts England 1-0 in a penalty shoot-out following a 0-0 draw.

Caption: Spain's Carmelo Garrido scores from the spot to take third place.

The trophies and medals were presented by Dave Clark, former England captain, Ulrich Pfisterer, chair of the IBSA Football Committee, and Philip Craven, President of the International Paralympic Committee.

To view a full photo gallery of the final and other matches visit the IBSA Blind Football Facebook group

Caption: tournament poster, featuring the slogan "trust your senses".

Related Articles