Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Title-holders Brazil reveal squad for blind football Worlds

Date: May 18, 2018

Category: Football



Defending world champions Brazil have announced their 10-man squad for the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, from 7-17 June.


The roster, announced by Brazil’s manager Fabio Vasconcelos, includes eight players who were part of Brazil’s gold medal team at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. The squad includes forwards Jefinho and Ricardinho, most valuable players of the 2010 and 2014 World Championships respectively.


Four-time Paralympic champions Brazil are seeking the fifth World Championships trophy. In the last edition, in 2014 in Japan, the Brazilians beat rivals and two-time world champions Argentina 1-0 with a goal from Jefinho in extra-time.


“We will have a last training phase in Sao Paulo between 27 May and 4 June to adjust the final details. People can be sure that will make a great tournament. Our goal is to win the title and secure our place at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games,” Vasconcelos said.



Brazil will face Costa Rica, England and Mali in Group D in Madrid. The world champions kick off against Mali on 8 June, then face Costa Rica the following day and finish their participation in the group stage against England on 11 June.


Team roster




Joao Paulo – ADESUL (Brazil)

Luan – AGAFUC (Brazil)



Cassio – ICB (Brazil)

Damiao – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Gledson – APADV (Brazil)

Mauricio Dumbo – AGAFUC (Brazil)



Jefinho – ICP (Brazil)

Nonato – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Ricardinho – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Tiago Silva – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Photo credit: Washington Alves/CPB/MPIX

Related Articles