Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Teams prepare for goalball Euros C

Date: November 16, 2021

Category: Goalball

Eight men’s teams from across the continent will play for promotion at the 2021 International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Goalball European Championships C in Targu Mures, Romania, from 17-20 November.

The competition is the second of a trio of tournaments to feature in a busy end to the goalball calendar for 2021.

With the conclusion of the European Championships A in Samsun, Turkey on Friday (12 November), division C teams will be inspired to make the leap up. Previous teams to have competed at the entry level of men’s goalball in the region include Russia and Montenegro. Both sides were subsequently promoted to division A from division B and retained their places in the top flight in Samsun last week.

Krisztian Kovacs was Romania’s top scorer from 2019 in L’Aquila, Italy, and returns to the team for this year. The hosts will try for promotion hoping playing at home will give them the edge.

Sweden – the Beijing 2008 Paralympic bronze medallists – were one of the world’s top sides before they fell from group A to B and then C in quick succession. Fatmir Seremeti has been with them since their glory days, debuting in 2002, and returns to the squad as he nears his 20th year.

The Italian team remain almost unchanged since their sixth place finish from two years ago. Emanuele Nicolo, Christian Mair, Dimitri Bernardi, Christian Belotti and Giuseppe Pratico will all line-up again.

Paris 2024 hosts France will hope to make a step towards catching their teammates in Targu Mures. The French women finished a respectable fifth place at Samsun 2021 to remain in division A.

Nabil Baich, Kada Boualia, Ambroise Adrien Dauden, Haris Neimarlija and Arnaud Ramos-Martins form the core of their returning players.

Veselin Kushnerenkov made it into the top 10 scorers for Bulgaria in 2019. Despite their 10th place finish last time out, he can no doubt be relied upon again to highlight their attack.

Denmark’s seventh place finish from 2019 was secured by Caspar Gregersen, Mathias Jensen, Mads Laursen and Gustav Rasmussen who will return to the court in Romania.

The Dutch side of Ronald Klaver, Marcel van Beijinen, Frank van de Kreeke and Joost van de Kreeke will go for promotion for the Netherlands.

Serbia enter a team in an official IBSA Goalball competition for the first time in Targu Mures.

IBSA President, Sandro Di Girolamo, will attend the competition.

Results from the 2021 IBSA Goalball European Championships C will be available at the website.

Competition schedule

17 November Pool
1 9:00 Romania Sweden B
2 10:15 France Bulgaria B
3 11:30 Denmark Netherlands A
4 14:45 Serbia Italy A
5 16:00 Bulgaria Sweden B
18 November  
6 9:00 Italy Denmark A
7 10:15 Netherlands Serbia A
8 11:30 Sweden France B
9 14:45 Bulgaria Romania B
10 16:00 Serbia Denmark A
19 November  
11 9:00 Netherlands Italy A
12 10:15 France Romania B
13 13:30 A1 B4 Quarter-final
14 14:40 B2 A3 Quarter-final
15 15:50 B1 A4 Quarter-final
16 17:00 A2 B3 Quarter-final
20 November
17 9:00 Winner 13 Winner 14 Semi-final
18 10:30 Winner 15 Winner 16 Semi-final
19 14:00 Loser 17 Loser 18 Bronze
20 15:30 Winner 17 Winner 18 Gold



Related Articles