Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Teams confirmed for goalball Euros B

Date: April 29, 2021

Category: Goalball

The International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Goalball has announced the countries who will compete at the 2021 European Championships B in Lahti, Finland.

Ten men’s and six women’s teams will line-up between 3-6 June to play for the title and promotion to the top flight.

In the men’s, Greece, Portugal, Israel and Russia will join group A of the competition whilst Sweden, Poland, Great Britain and Montenegro will form group B. Romania and Italy will take the final places in group A and B respectively, as substitutes for the Czech Republic and Slovenia who have not taken up their spots.

In the women’s hosts Finland, Denmark, Spain, France, Poland and Hungary will play in one group ahead of semi-finals and finals.

The top three finishers will be promoted to the A pool in Europe and get the chance to qualify for the 2022 IBSA Goalball World Championships in Hangzhou, China, and the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games.

The 2021 Euros B will be goalball’s first major international tournament since the African Championships concluded in March 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of the original Euros B later in the year.

The Local Organising Committee has published updated safety measures for the tournament, confirming that they will adhere to national government guidance at the time.
COVID-secure protocols from IBSA Goalball, published in ‘Back to Competition’ guidelines here, will govern procedures during games.

The competition itself will be held at the Pajulahti Olympic and Paralympic Training Center. This self-contained complex will be where everyone involved in the Championships will train, compete, eat and sleep for its duration.

Related Articles