Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Poland crowned IBSA Blind Football Euro Challenge Cup winners

Date: May 14, 2018

Category: Football

Hosts Poland were crowned champions of the 3rd IBSA Blind Football Euro Challenge Cup in Krakow last weekend following a 1-0 victory over Ireland in the final.

A first half goal from skipper Marcin Ryszka was enough to give the Poles the title despite Ireland’s efforts to secure an equaliser.

Hungary took third place, defeating newcomers Belarus 2-0 in the 3rd-4th place play-off thanks to goals from Szabó and Orbán.

Austria’s Mustafa Hösgören made his mark on the tournament in the play-off for 5th and 6th place, striking all eight goals in his team’s victory over Switzerland. Perrenoud and Dimicco scored consolation goals for the Swiss. Both nations were making their debut at an international blind football competition.

Austria’s Bettina Sulyok made history in the tournament as the first woman to captain a national blind football team in an IBSA competition.

Final standings

1 Poland
2 Ireland
3 Hungary
4 Belarus
5 Austria
6 Switzerland

Caption: Polish captain Marcin Ryszka lifts the trophy. 
Click on the links above or here to view the full results and final standings.
The 3rd Euro Challenge Cup was held in Krakow, Poland, as part of the UEFA-funded IBSA Blind Football Development Project Europe. IBSA Blind Football would like to thank UEFA,  local club Tyniecka NWP Kraków and Kraków City Council for all their support to make the tournament possible.

Caption: UEFA Equal Game/Respect banner.

Related Articles