Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Media accreditation opens for 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships

Date: May 11, 2018

Category: Football

Media are advised that they can now apply for accreditation for the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain.

The competition will be the biggest in the sport’s history. Sixteen teams will play for the title between 7-17 June including debuts for Mexico, Costa Rica, Mali, European champions Russia, Thailand and Iran.

Media and broadcasters can apply for accreditation at

All 44 matches will be held at the Colegio Sagrado Corazón.

Defending champions Brazil have been drawn in group D alongside Great Britain, Costa Rica and Mali.

Spain have been drawn in group A with Turkey, African champions Morocco and Thailand.

Asian title holders China will take on South Korea in their opening group C game. Russia and Mexico are also in the group.

Rounding off the draw is Americas champions Argentina, France, Colombia and Iran in group B.

Madrid 2018 gets underway on 7 June with the Opening Ceremony and the first group stage match. The quarter finals and play-offs begin on 13 June with the final taking place on 17 June.

As well as the title on offer the competition is also an important step on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.

More information is available at

Related Articles