Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Malaysia confirmed to host 2017 Blind Football Asian Championships

Date: March 30, 2017

Category: Football

Kuala Lumpur has been selected to play host to the IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships 2017. The Malaysian capital will host the event from December 9th to 18th.

Organised by the Malaysian Blind Sports Association, the tournament will bring together the best teams in the continent to compete for the title of Asian champions and book a slot at next year's Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain.

Iran will defend the title it won in Japan in 2015 by defeating China on penalties in the final.

Caption: Iran celebrates on the podium in Tokyo after winning in 2015.

The IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships 2017 will take place at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur.

This will be the seventh edition of the event.

History of the IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships:


2005 Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam), winners – Japan
2007 Seoul (South Korea), China
2009 Tokyo (Japan), China
2011 Sendai (Japan), China
2013 Beijing (China), China
2015 Tokyo (Japan), Iran
For more information on the IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships 2017 contact [email protected].

Related Articles