Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Ilgar Rahimov is the new IBSA president

Date: June 30, 2023

Category: General

Ilgar Rahimov got elected as the new president of IBSA – International Blind Sports Federation which took place this Friday, July 29, at the Extraordinary General Assembly (EGA) in Fátima, Portugal.

The former president of the Azerbaijan National Paralympic Committee got an absolute majority in the first round against the other candidate, Sandro Di Girolamo, previous IBSA president.

“Thank you for believing in me. As part of my promise to involve you all, let me tell you about the future. This Sunday, we will meet the new Board to hear what you, the members, have to say. I will do my best to honour my promises and take major decisions”, said Mr. Rahimov to close the EGA.

There were 52 countries represented with vote rights, which means 27 votes were needed for the absolute majority for election at the first round. If there was no quorum reached, then on the second round, a simple majority would elect the winning candidate.

For the rest of the board members, Joe Walsh (USA) was chosen for vice-president; Sally Wood Lamont (Romania) was reconducted as Secretary General; and Eigo Matsuzaki (Japan) was elected Treasurer. For Members-at-Large: Bernardino Seixas (Angola); Ioanna Karyofylli (Greece); Mads Baulund (Denmark); Zdenek Barlok (Czek Republic); and Tinatin Revazashvilli (Georgia).

The regional representatives were also chosen. For Africa, Toussaint Akpneh (Nigeria); for the Americas, Facundo Martin Cordoba (Argentina); for Asia, Soonbong Hong (Korea); and for Europe, Gael Riviere (France).

Tim Reddish was invited by IBSA to lead the EGA: “I want to congratulate the elected Board and all the members for their professionalism, their patience, and their trust in me to support them in this electoral process”.

Meet the new IBSA Executive Board for the next four years:

President – Ilgar Rahimov

Vice president – Joe Walsh

Secretary General – Sally Wood Lamont

Treasurer – Eigo Matsuzaki


Bernardino Seixas

Ioanna Karyofylli

Mads Baulund

Zdenek Barlok

Tinatin Revazashvilli

Related Articles