Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

IBSA Blind Football World Championships 2018 – bids to host

Date: March 14, 2016

Category: Football

The IBSA Football Committee would like to remind all IBSA member countries that the deadline to express interest in hosting the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships is Thursday 31st March 2016.

IBSA members interested in organising the 2018 World Championships are requested to send a letter expressing interest to Mr Ulrich Pfisterer, Chair of the IBSA Football Committee, at [email protected], with copy to Mr Henk van Aller, IBSA Secretary General, at [email protected]

The cut-off date to send full and formal bids to host the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships is Tuesday 31st May 2016.

The 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships for totally blind players (B1 category) will be the 7th edition of the event. Previous championships are:

1998 Campinhas (Brazil)
2000 Jerez de la Frontera (Spain)
2002 Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
2006 Buenos Aires (Argentina)
2010 Hereford (United Kingdom)
2014 Tokyo (Japan)

The trophy has never left South America,with Brazil winning four championships – in 1998, 2000, 2010 and 2014 – and Argentina lifting the cup in 2002 and 2006. 


Related Articles