Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships entries open

Date: April 11, 2019

Category: Football

Thailand to host 8th IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships in September

IBSA member countries in Asia can now sign up for this year's regional blind football championships and the chance to qualify for the 2020 Paralympic Games in Tokyo.

Hosted by the Sports Association for the Blind of Thailand, the championships will be held in Pattaya from September 27th to October 7th.

With Japan already confirmed for Tokyo 2020 as host nation, the top two teams will qualify for the Paralympics.

The IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships 2019 are set to be the biggest regional event ever, with up to eleven teams expected to enter.

Five-times Asian champions China will be looking to defend the title it won in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, two years ago, while 2017 runners-up Iran will want to go one better and secure the trophy. Placed third in KL, the host country also expects to be in the running for the title and a place at the Tokyo games.


Arrival: September 27th
Classification: September 28th-29th
Competition: September 30th- October 6th
Departure : October 7th

The entry fee is 800 Euros per participant. First entries are open until 31st May, and only countries in good standing with IBSA may register their teams.

Click on the link above to view or download the first entry form.

Click here for more information on the Sports Association for the Blind of Thailand web site, or contact [email protected].

The IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships have been held every two years since 2005.

Previous championships and top teams

Year          Venue                                    Winner                      Runner-up
2005         Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam)           Japan                        South Korea
2007         Seoul (South Korea)               China                        South Korea
2009         Tokyo (Japan)                         China                        Japan
2011         Sendai (Japan)                       China                         Iran
2013         Beijing (China)                        China                        Japan
2015         Tokyo (Japan)                          Iran                           China
2017         Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)        China                        Iran

Follow IBSA Blind Football on FacebookInstagram and Twitter for news on the development of the game across the world.

Related Articles