Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Goalball: Japan and Korea are the new Asia Pacific champions

Date: July 29, 2022

Category: Goalball

Japan (men) and Korea (women) are the winners of the 2022 IBSA Goalball Asia Pacific Championships and become the new continental champions!

In the men’s competition, Japan defeated Iran in the final, only in overtime, by a golden goal, after the tie (7-7) registered in regular time. It was a very balanced match, Iran was several times in the lead, but the Japanese squad showed all the resilience they could get, which was rewarded in the final with the victory.

#Accessibility – The women’s national team of Korea celebrates in the podium their continental title won in Bahrain

In the women’s tournament, Korea stood against Australia and went smooth all the way. Korea started to gain an advantage and never lost focus, as it is shown by the final result.

In the match for the bronze medal in the men’s competition, Thailand and Korea never gave up. After the tie in regular time (6–6) and no goals in overtime, the decision went to extra throws, which finished with another tie (9-9). The winner was found by sudden death extra throws, and Thailand missed one and Korea didn’t.

All the four teams that played the final matches, Japan and Iran (men), and Korea and Australia (women), have secured their place in the next 2022 IBSA Goalball World Championships, which will take place in the city of Matosinhos (Portugal) next December.

Check all the results of the day and the final standings of both championships:

July 29th
(Men) Bronze medal – Thailand vs Korea (10-11* sudden death extra throws)
(Women) GOLD – Korea vs Australia (7-3)
(Men) GOLD – Japan vs Iran (8-7* overtime)

Men final standings:
1st Japan
2nd Iran
3rd Korea
4th Thailand
5th Australia

Women final standings:
1st Korea
2nd Australia
3rd Iran
4th Thailand

Top scorer (men)
1st Mohammad Estarki (IRI): 32
2nd Kaneko Kazuya (JPN): 23
3rd Sanu Yuto (JPN): 15 / Miyajiki Koji (JPN): 15

Top scorer (women)
1st Brodie Smith (AUS): 33
2nd Samira Jalilvand (IRI): 21
3rd Seonhwa Sim (KOR): 19

Related Articles