Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Four things you should know about the Moroccan blind football team

Date: April 8, 2018

Category: Football

The seventh edition of the IBSA Blind Football World Championships will take place in Madrid, Spain from 7-17 June.
With 60 days to count down, here is the lowdown on three-time African champions Morocco, who are ranked 7th in the IBSA Blind Football world rankings.

  • The Moroccan national team was formed in 2007 and their first international competition was at the inaugural IBSA Blind Football African Open Championships in 2014. They beat Senegal in the two-game tournament to win the first ever African title and become the first African country to qualify for the 2014 World Championships in Tokyo, Japan.
  • Morocco went on to finish 12th at the 2014 World Championships, but they bounced back in 2015 by lifting the African Blind Football Championship for the second time and subsequently became the first African country to compete in the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games football 5-a-side competition.
  • At the 2017 IBSA Blind Football African Championships in Cape Verde, Morocco won all their group stage matches against Mali, Egypt and Cape Verde. Morocco defeated Mali 8-1 in the final to become three-time reigning African Champions and book their place in this year’s World Championships.
  • Watch out for Morocco’s deadly goal scorer Abderrazak Hattab, who is ferocious in the penalty box with his trademark right foot. He scored a total of 16 goals at last year’s African Blind Football Championships to win Top Goal Scorer and Player of the Tournament.  

Follow the Morocco Blind Football National Team on Facebook to get updates on their journey to Madrid 2018.
The 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships will feature 16 of the world’s best teams. As well as the title on offer the competition is also an important step on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.
After the Opening Ceremony on 7 June, the group stages get underway on 8 June. The quarter finals and play-offs begin on 13 June with the final taking place on 17 June.

Related Articles