Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Four things to know about China’s blind football team

Date: May 18, 2018

Category: Football

There are only twenty days until the IBSA Blind Football World Championships kick off in Madrid, Spain.

The Chinese blind football national team were formed in 2006 and have transformed into one of the strongest teams in the world.

Check out some facts about the world ranked No.3 team.

  • China have won the Asian Championships five times in 2007 (Seoul, South Korea), 2009 (Tokyo, Japan), 2011 (Sendai, Japan), 2013 (Beijing, China) and 2017 (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia).
  • Additionally, China picked up silver at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games and competed at the World Championships twice in 2010 (Hereford, Great Britain) and 2014 (Tokyo), claiming bronze in 2010.
  • China won the 2017 IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships in Kuala Lumpur for the fifth time as they defeated Iran 2-0 in the final. As a result they qualified for this year’s World Championships for the third time.
  • China’s captain Wei Jiansen is regarded as the team’s best player. He scored a total of five goals in the group stage and semi-final of the IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships to claim the Top Goal Scorer Award.

Chin will play South Korea, Russia and Mexico in group C in Madrid.

The 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships will feature 16 of the world’s best teams. As well as the title on offer the competition is also an important step on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.
After the Opening Ceremony and match on 7 June, the group stages get underway in earnest on 8 June. The quarter finals and play-offs begin on 13 June with the final taking place on 17 June.

Related Articles