Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Five things you should know about Argentina’s blind football team

Date: April 28, 2018

Category: Football

The countdown to the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, is entering the final stretch.
With just 40 days to go until the biggest competition on the calendar, here are five things you should know about world No.2 Argentina.

  • In 1991, Argentina's blind football national team was created by the Federación Argentina De Ciegos (Fadec) . Today, Argentina are one of the most powerful blind football nations in the world.
  • Their first official international competition was at the 1997 Copa América in Asunción, Paraguay, where they attained silver.  
  • ‘Los Murciélagos’ (the Bats) have achieved a podium finish in almost all editions of the IBSA Blind Football World Championships, claiming silver in 1998, 2000 and 2014 and gold in 2002 and 2006. ‘Los Murciélagos’ have also dominated the Copa América with two wins from 1999 and 2009.  
  • Argentina added a third Copa América gold to their trophy cabinet in 2017. They defeated Brazil in a penalty shootout 2-1, with the both goals scored by captain Silvio Velo and Maximiliano Espinillo to end Brazil’s 57-match unbeaten run. Argentina also scored seventeen goals in the tournament.  
  • Velo is one of Argentina’s longest-serving players. His understanding of the game and attacking attributes could unravel the defence of other countries at the World Championships.

The 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships will feature 16 of the world’s best teams. As well as the title on offer the competition is also an important step on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.
After the Opening Ceremony and match on 7 June, the group stages get underway on 8 June. The quarter finals and play-offs begin on 13 June with the final taking place on 17 June.
Argentina will play in group B alongside France, Colombia and Iran.

Related Articles