Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Canada announce team for goalball World Championships

Date: April 26, 2018

Category: Goalball

Canada have revealed the men’s and women’s teams who will take on the world at the 2018 IBSA Goalball World Championships in Malmo, Sweden, from 3 June.
The athletes were selected by Canadian Blind Sports based on the 2017-2018 national team pool as the best combination of centres and wingers.
The women’s team will play respective Paralympic silver and bronze medallists China and the USA in a tough draw in group D. At the 2016 Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, Canada were knocked out in the semi-finals by their North American rivals.
The eight men have been drawn in group B alongside defending title holders and Paralympic bronze medallists Brazil. The Canadian team will be hoping to bounce back from an agonising 5-4 quarter-finals defeat at Rio 2016 to eventual champions Lithuania.
Men’s team

Brendan Gaulin
Aron Ghebreyohanes
Bruno Hache
Blair Nesbitt
Doug Ripley
Ahmad Zeividavi
Peter Parsons
Simon Tremblay

Women’s team

Whitney Bogart
Meghan Mahon
Nancy Morin
Emma Reinke
Ruby Soliman
Brieann Baldock
The 2018 IBSA Goalball World Championships run from 3-8 June. Featuring 28 of the world’s best men’s and women’s teams, it is the first major stop on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

Related Articles