Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Brazil wins blind football Copa America

Date: September 30, 2013

Category: Football

Brazil has won the 2013 IBSA Copa America, defeating hosts Argentina in the final by three goals to two in a penalty shout-out following a nil-nil draw.

Gabriel, Marquinhos and Nonato were on the mark for the reigning IBSA World Champions and 2012 Paralympic gold medal winners to ensure another trophy for the boys from Brazil.

The 2013 IBSA Copa America brought together eight teams in the biggest-ever continental tournament in the Americas region.

Paraguay finished third, beating Colombia on penalties. Mexico came fifth, defeating Uruguay 3-0 in the play-off match, while Chile concluded the tournament in seventh place and Peru came eighth.

Final standings

1 Brazil
2 Argentina
3 Paraguay
4 Colombia
5 Mexico
6 Uruguay
7 Chile
8 Peru

Top goalscorers

Jeferson (Brazil) 12
Juan Pablo Parra (Colombia) 9
Ricardinho (Brazil) 8
Ricardo Villamayor (Paraguay) 7
Raimundo Nonato (Brazil) 6
David Peralta (Argentina) 5
Froilán Padilla (Argentina) 4
Silvio Velo (Argentina) 4
Jorge Villalba (Paraguay) 4
Gabriel (Brazil) 4
Rubicel De la Cruz Torres (Mexico) 4

The 2013 Copa America was organised by FADeC, the Argentine Blind Sports Federation, and was held at the Universidad Nacional del Litoral in Santa Fe, Argentina.

Related Articles