Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Brazil retains IBSA Blind Football World Championships title

Date: November 26, 2014

Category: Football

It was a moment of joy once again for the Braziian team at the IBSA Blind Football World Championips in Tokyo, Japan, as they retained the coveted title of world champions thanks to a 1-0 victory over Argentina.

The final was a tense match with chances falling to both sides to score. At the end of the 50-minutes there was no scoring, so the game moved into extra time.

With a penalty shoot-out looking likely, it took a moment of brilliance from Brazilian star Jeferson Gonçalves (Jefinho) to break the deadlock. Picking up a loose ball on the right wing 15 metres from goal, he moved inside and, despite the best efforts of two Argentinenan defenders, placed a low right-foot shot to the left of the goalkeeper to put Brazil ahead.

Argentina was unable to equalise, so Brazil retained the title they won in Hereford in 2010.

Brazil has won four of the six editions of the IBSA Blind Football World Championships – Brazil 1998, Spain 2000, United Kingdom 2010 and Japan 2014.

Spain edged out China on penalty kicks to take third place and the bronze medals following a tight 0-0 draw in the 3rd-4th place match.

Full results and final standings from the championships are now available on this web site. Click here to view or download.

Click here for highlights of the last day's play.

Ricardo Alves was named MVP at the tournament and also picked up the award for highest goalscorer.

Team of the Tournament:

Pedro Gutiérrez (Spain, goalkeeper)
Froilán Padilla (Argentina)
Ricardo Alves (Brazil)
Jeferson Gonçalves (Brazil)
Juan Alberto Giménez (Paraguay)
Yutan Yu (China)

Turkey was awarded the Fair Play Trophy.

Final standings:

1 Brazil
2 Argentina
3 Spain
4 China
5 Paraguay
6 Japan
7 Colombia
8 Germany
9 France
10 South Korea
11 Turkey
12 Morocco

Click here to see how Brazil celebrated victory.   

Related Articles