Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Blind football seeks hosts for 2019 championships

Date: May 28, 2018

Category: Football

With just ten days to go until the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships kick off in Madrid, Spain, the IBSA Football Committee is already looking to the future and seeking hosts for its major championships in 2019.

The committee has launched the application process to stage the following championships:

2019 African Championships
2019 American Championships
2019 Asian Championships
2019 Central American Championships
2019 European Championships Division 1
2019 European Championships Division 2

A number of these championships offer direct qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic games.

The top eight teams at the 2017 European Championships in Berlin, Germany, qualify automatically for the 2019 European Championships Division 1 and are invited to bid to host the event. The championships should take place around the end of August or beginning of September.

The 2019 European Championships Division 2 will also be a qualifier for Division 1, with the top two teams given slots to play. The Division 2 event should take place in spring 2019.

IBSA member organisations wishing to bid to host any of the above events are invited to express their interest by email to Mr Ulrich Pfisterer, Chair of the IBSA Football Committee ([email protected]), with copy to Mr Henk van Aller, IBSA CEO ([email protected]), by Tuesday July 31st.

Member organisations may also submit a full bid by this date using the form above.

For more information on any of the championships contact [email protected].

Follow IBSA Blind Football on Facebook and Twitter.

Caption: Russia won the 2017 IBSA Blind Football European Championships in Germany (Image © Ralf Kuckuck).

Related Articles