Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Blind Football: Men’s and women’s teams for the IBSA World Games

Date: February 17, 2023

Category: Blind football

The IBSA Blind Football Sports Committee informs that the national teams that will compete at the 2023 IBSA Blind Football World Championships, integrated into the 2023 IBSA World Games, are set.

The women’s tournament will take place between August 12 and 21 and will have eight (8) national teams competing for the world title. The countries are as follows: Great Britain, Germany, India, Japan, Morocco, Argentina, Ghana, and Mali.

The men’s tournament will be between August 12th and 25th, and will have 16 teams from the following countries: Great Britain, France, Turkey, Germany, Italy, China, Thailand, Japan, Iran, Morocco, Mali, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, and Spain.

The 2023 IBSA World Games, due to take place from August 18–27, 2023, will be held at the University of Birmingham, across the Edgbaston area and wider region. It’s the largest high-level international event for athletes with visual impairments, with more than 1,000 competitors from more than 70 nations.

The IPC has officially approved and included blind football in the Paralympic Games Los Angeles 2028, and the World Championships qualify the first three national teams (not otherwise qualified) for the Paralympic Games Paris 2024.


Related Articles