Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Blind Football Central American Championships set to kick off

Date: November 5, 2019

Category: Football

The stage is set in Guatemala City for the 2nd edition of the IBSA Blind Football Central American Championships to kick off later today.

Costa Rica, El Salvador, Nicaragua and hosts Guatemala are in the running for the coveted title of Central American Champions in the event hosted by the Comité Pro Ciegos y Sordos de Guatemala.

The opening ceremony will take place at 09:30 local time, followed by the opening game featuring reigning champions Costa Rica and the host team. El Salvador and Nicaragua will open their accounts at 14:00.

Costa Rica is the team to beat as the current titleholders, and the hosts will be looking to go one better than in the first championships two years ago, when they lost 3-2 on penalties following a 1-1 draw in the final.

Nicaragua and El Salvador will be looking to improve on their fourth and fifth-place finishes in 2017.

Caption: Costa Rica captain holds the trophy aloft after winning in 2017.

Match schedule

Tuesday 5th November
10:30 Guatemala vs Costa Rica
14:00 Nicaragua vs El Salvador

Wednesday 6th November
10:00 El Salvador vs Costa Rica
14:00 Guatemala vs Nicaragua

Thursday 7th November
10:00 Nicaragua vs Costa Rica
14:00 El Salvador vs Guatemala

Friday 8th November – rest day

Saturday 9th November
10:00 3rd-4th place play-off
14:00 final

All matches will be streamed live on the IBSA Blind Football Facebook page and the Comité Pro Ciegos Facebook page.

Caption: match schedule.

Related Articles