Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Blind Football Central American Championships kick off in Guatemala

Date: November 7, 2017

Category: Football

Blind Football completes another milestone today as the IBSA Blind Football Central American Championships begin in Guatemala.

The stage is set for the first ever official championships in Central America, establishing the game in the region as part of the worldwide blind football movement.

Hosted by the Guatemalan Committee for the Blind and Deaf (Comité Pro-Ciegos y Sordos de Guatemala), the event brings together five countries from the region – hosts Guatemala, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua.

Following the opening ceremony, Guatemala will face Honduras in the opening match at 11:30 local time. Nicaragua and Costa Rica complete today’s fixtures at 15:00.

Watch the opening ceremony live here.

The championships form part of IBSA’s Central American Blind Football Development Project, utilising support from the International Paralympic Committee to develop and spread the game to the region.

Caption: banner for the IBSA Blind Football Central American Championships.

Follow IBSA Blind Football on Facebook

Related Articles