Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Asian Blind Football Championships – entries open

Date: May 16, 2017

Category: Football

IBSA member countries in Asia are invited to sign up for this year's IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships, which will take place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from December 9th to 18th 2017.

Hosted by the Malaysian Blind Sports Association, the championships will bring tiogether the best teams in the continent, who will meet for the title of Asian champs and a qualifying slot for the IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, next year.

Reigning Asian champions and Paralympic silver medallists Iran will be looking to regain the title they won in Japan in 2015, but they will face stiff competition from rivals China, Japan and South Korea and a number of other teams. 

The championships are open to all Asian IBSA member countries, and the venue for the event is the National Hockey Stadium.

Click here or on the links above to view or download the official invitation and entry form (expression of interes), as well as more general information about the championships.

The IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships KL 2017 will be the seventh such event. Asian regional championships in the sport began in Vietnam in 2005.

Previous hosts and winners 

2005 Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam) – Japan
2007 Seoul (South Korea) – China
2009 Tokyo (Japan) – China
2011 Sendai (Japan) – China
2013 Beijing (China) – China
2015 Tokyo (Japan) – Iran 


Related Articles