Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Argentina wins the world title in Men’s Blind Football

Date: August 26, 2023

Category: Blind football

The men’s national team of Argentina won this Friday the gold medal in the Men’s Blind Football World Championship, defeating China in the penalty shootout 2-1 after 0-0 in regular time.

The decisive penalties were scored first by Ignacio Oviedo, and then Nahuel Heredia closed the math for the South American country, which already had the women’s national team celebrating the first world title of blind football.

In the bronze medal discussion, the five-times world champion Brazil revenged their failed presence in the final by defeating Colombia 7-1.

The final standings of the competition are as follows:

2nd – China
3rd – Brazil
4th – Colombia
5th – Japan
6th – Iran
7th – France
8th – Italy
9th – Thailand
10th – Morocco
11th – Germany
12th – Spain
13th – England
14th – Mexico
15th – Turkiye
16th – Mali

Related Articles