Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Argentina and Brazil to meet in Blind Football American Championships final

Date: December 3, 2017

Category: Football


Argentina tops table to reach final, while Brazil is forced to fight for its place by Colombia 

The final of the IBSA Blind Football American Championships will be another edition of the South American superclásico between reigning American, world and Paralympic champions Brazil and two times American and world champions Argentina.

Hosted by the Chilean Sports Federation for the Visually Impaired and the Paralympic Committee of Chile, the championships come to a close today with the 5th-place play off between Chile and Peru at 10:00, the bronze medal match featuring Colombia and Mexico at 12:30, and the final at 17:30.

Click here to watch all today's games on our live streaming service.

Argentina was first to secure its place in the final, easily overcoming hosts Chile 5-0. Véliz, Rodríguez and Velo (3 goals) did the damage for the Argentineans.

Brazil was made to suffer until the very last gasp to book its slot in the final. Needing only a draw to qualify, they were beating Colombia, who needed a win to reach the final, as the second half progressed thanks to a goal from Nonato in the 5th minute.

The Colombians turned the tables on Brazil through two goals in three minutes – Juan Quintero in the 15th minute and Jhon González in the 17th – and looked to be on their way to a historic win over a team they had never beaten. 

However, Ricardinho, considered by many to be the best blind football player in the world, had other ideas and equalised with one minute to go thanks to a deflected shot following a free-kick.

Brazil stretches its unbeaten record in international fixtures to 57 games.

Caption: Brazil shoots at goal in yesterday's game against Colombia. (Photo: Renan Cacioli/CBDV)

In yesterday's other game, Mexico beat Peru 6-1 (Jorge Lanzagorta [3], Daniel Viera [2] and Rubicel de la Cruz for Mexico, César Fernández for Peru) to secure fourth place and a slot at Madrid 2018.

Argentina, Brazil and Colombia all finish the group stage on 11 points, with Argentina topping the table on goal difference, Brazil second and Colombia in third place. Mexico is fourth on six points, Chile fifth on three points, and Peru closes the table.

Results match day five – Saturday 2nd December

Chile 0
Argentina 5 (Nicolas Veliz, Lucas Rodriguez, Silvio Velo [3])

Colombia 2 (Juan Perez, Jhon Gonzalez)
Brazil 2 (Raimundo Nonato Mendes, Ricardinho Alves)

Mexico 6 (Jorge Lanzagorta [3], Daniel Viera [2], Rubicel De La Cruz)
Perú 1 (Cesar Fernandez)

Caption: final group stage standings.

Fixtures match day six – Sunday 3rd December


10:00 5th-6th place play-off – Chile vs Peru 
12:30 3rd-4th place play-off – Mexico vs Colombia 
17:30 Final – Argentina vs Brasil

Three teams will qualify from Chile 2017 to take part in the IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, in June 2018. As reigning world champions (Tokyo 2014), Brazil has qualified automatically for Madrid 2018.

IBSA's local partners in hosting the event are the Chilean Sports Federation for the Visually Impaired and the Paralympic Committee of Chile. The championships will take place at the Estadio Municipal Manuel Rojas del Río in Colina, Santiago de Chile.

Follow all the action on the IBSA Blind Football Facebook page or Twitter feed, or the Paralympic Committee of Chile Facebook page or Twitter feed.

Caption: logo for the IBSA Blind Football American Championships Chile 2017.


Related Articles