Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

2019 IBSA Blind Football American Championships entries open

Date: November 1, 2018

Category: Football

Countries can now enter for next year's IBSA Blind Football American Championships or Copa América, which will take place in Sao Paulo, Brazil, from June 1st to 9th.

Hosted by the Brazilian Blind Sports Confederation, the championships are open to all countries from the IBSA Americas region, with a maximum of eight teams competing.

The 2019 IBSA Blind Football American Championships will be the first of two major blind football events in the region in 2019, with the second coming soon afterwards at the 2019 Para Pan-American Games in Lima, Peru.

The IBSA Blind Football American Championships will return to Brazil after eleven years, and Argentina will be looking to defend the title it won in Santiago de Chile last year, defeating world and Paralympic champions Brazil on penalties in the final.

The competition will take place at the Paralympic Training Centre in the city, the venue for mant top-level national and international blind sports events.

First entries are due by Sunday February 10th 2019, second entries by Friday 15th March 2019, and final entries by Tuesday 30th April 2019. Entry fees (1 000 Euros per participant, plus 25 Euros capitation fee per athlete) are due by Friday March 15th 2019.  

For more information click on the link above or contact:

Felipe Menescal – [email protected]
Maíra Fiorentino – [email protected]

Caption: Argentina team photo with their medals and trophy after victory in the final of the 2017 IBSA Blind Football American Championships.

Related Articles