Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

2019 Blind Football championships call for bids – final reminder

Date: July 25, 2018

Category: Football

The IBSA Football Committee reminds all IBSA member countries that they have until Tuesday 31st July to express interest in hosting next year's regional championships.

The committee has already received expressions of interest from several countries, but would like to offer other countries one last chance to indicate they wish to host. 

The committee is seeking hosts to stage the following championships:

2019 African Championships
2019 American Championships
2019 Asian Championships
2019 Central American Championships
2019 European Championships Division 1
2019 European Championships Division 2

A number of these championships offer direct qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic games.

Caption: Chile hosted the 2017 IBSA Blind Football Copa América (American Championships).

The top eight teams at the 2017 European Championships in Berlin, Germany, qualify automatically for the 2019 European Championships Division 1 and are invited to bid to host the event. The championships should take place around the end of August or beginning of September.

The 2019 European Championships Division 2 will also be a qualifier for Division 1, with the top two teams granted slots to play. The Division 2 event should take place in spring 2019.

IBSA member organisations wishing to bid to host any of the above events are invited to express their interest by email to Mr Ulrich Pfisterer, Chair of the IBSA Football Committee ([email protected]), with copy to Mr Henk van Aller, IBSA CEO ([email protected]), by Tuesday July 31st. Member organisations may also submit a full bid by this date using the form above.

For more information on any of the championships contact [email protected].

Follow IBSA Blind Football on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Related Articles