Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Six teams confirmed for Asian blind football championships

Date: June 29, 2015

Category: Football

The IBSA Asian Blind Football Championships 2015 in Japan next September will see six teams competing for the title of Asian champions and a slot at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Following close of entries Japan, China, Iran, South Korea, India and Malaysia have all confirmed participation, making the 2015 event, to be held in Tokyo, Japan, the biggest Asian championships to date.
The event is hosted by the Japanese Paralympic Committee and Japan Blind Football Association and takes place over six days, from Wednesday 2nd September to Monday 7th September.

Teams will play each other in a round-robin first stage, before moving on to placement games on the final match day. In the opening games India will face Korea, Malaysia will take on Iran, and hosts Japan will play reigning Asian champions China.

In addition to competing for the Asian title, the top two teams at the championships will also qualify to represent Asia at the Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro next year. 

Related Articles