Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Nations confirmed for Football Five-a-Side at Rio

Date: January 27, 2016

Category: Football

The IBSA Football Committee has announced that all eight countries qualified for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games have confirmed they will take part in the blind football competition.

The National Paralympic Committees of Brazil (hosts), Argentina, Mexico, Russia, Turkey, China, Iran and Morocco have all confirmed in writing their intention to take up the slots they have been offered by IBSA for the competition.

The Rio 2016 Football 5-a-side tournament will take place at the Olympic Tennis Centre in Barra Olympic Park between September 9th and 17th.

Mexico, Russia and Morocco will make their Paralympic blind football debuts in Rio, and the team to beat is host country and reigning Paralympic and IBSA World Champions Brazil.

Related Articles