Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Text size

Page Colour

Goalball referees for 2012 Paralympic Games selected

Date: December 7, 2011

Category: Goalball

Thank you to all those who put in an application to referee at the 2012 London Paralympic Games. Of course there were more applications than places.

The selection process was similar to previous Games. Having taken the views of the Referees´ Committee into account, the final decision was made by the Chairman and Executive of the IBSA Goalball Committee.

Goalball is the most international sport for blind people, having participants, supporters and fans in many countries. We are delighted to have new referees selected to officiate in London. It is also important to have ITOs from various countries and get people involved and motivated globally.

Major criteria for referees in London 2012:

– to take into account the rotation;
– experience, performance, behaviour as referee;
– gender and regional equality;
– other possible criteria.

The successful referees are as follows:

– Janne Ahokas, Finland;
– Ali Aldarsony, Saudi Arabia;
– Kim Andersson, USA;
– Thomas Bärz, Germany;
– Dawna Christy, Canada;
– Anthony Connolly, USA;
– Christl Daentler, Germany;
– Yasser El Gendy, Egypt;
– Morten Hammershøi, Denmark;
– Warrick Jackes, Australia;
– Bulent Kimyon, Turkey;
– Carla da Matta, Brazil;
– Shinji Mizuno, Japan;
– Dina Murdie, Great Britain;
– Launel Scott, Canada;
– Hooshang Shariati, Iran;
– Vilma Venckutonyte, Lithuania;
– Juha Vuokila, Finland.

And the reserves are:

Pieter Westerhout, The Netherlands – 1st alternate;
Nejc Jakic, Slovenia – 2nd alternate;
Yoshinori Nii, Japan – 3rd alternate.

Meanwhile, if you are interested in applying to be an ITO at the London Paralympic Games 2012 you still have the option of putting your name forward. The closing date for this is December 16th, 2011. All applications must be sent to [email protected]. Click on the link above for more information.

Thank you.

IBSA Goalball Committee.

Related Articles